Surt efterspel


Joe Fly innanför Barking Mad och Mascalzone Latino. Det var förspelet till den här rundningen, när Joe Fly kom in på babords layline, som diskuteras.

Giovanni Maspero, Joe Fly, har surat ihop efter Farr 40 VM. Hans läslag på Barking Mad var ingen stor sak för de inblandade, men Mascalzone hystade in en protest som gjorde att de vann regattan. Och här är juryns beslut.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwWkBk–W2E Incidenten som det talas om kan ses 38 sekunder in i filmen.

Och här är juryns beslut.

The Farr40 Worlds finished just a few days ago. The winners, as everyone knows, were Mascalzone Latino, who win the competition for the third time in a row, a unique achievement reflecting the qualities of a team of yachtsmen.

Their victory came not at the finish line, on the water, but following a protest that the Mascalzone Latino Team made against us, the Joe Fly Team: a protest by a 3rd party that sees another boat, Joe Fly, allegedly commit an infringement against yet another boat, Barking Mad.

This is all part of the game I think. The anomaly is that the Jury called upon to decide has manifest conflicts of interest in respect of one of the teams involved.

Everyone knows that Tom Ehman, chairman of the adjudicatory committee, works for the American BMW Oracle team. Likewise Richard Slater, another member of the 2008 Farr40 Worlds jury. Another judge present, Henry Menin, worked for the OracleTeam in 2000. And John Kostecki, Mascalzone Latino’s tactician in Miami, the person who formally lodged and argued the case against Joe Fly, is also an employee of the BMW Oracle Racing. The close links between Mascalzone Latino and BMW Oracle Racing are common knowledge.

All this is too serious to pass over in silence. An analogy would be if Adriano Galliani, CEO of A.C. Milan, were also to chair a board of adjudicators in a case involving one of his own players against a player in another team ….

This is what makes the whole game something of a farce.

On this episode and our Team’s conduct in the race I can hardly believe what I’ve heard and read in the last few hours. Though I normally prefer a low profile, this time I cannot stay silent. I feel I have to speak out and defend the Team’s sporting conduct, our attitude and the loyalty which has always been our hallmark wherever we sail and in whatever Class.

Footage of the incident can be seen on various websites, each offering an opinion. I’m not an “expert” on the rules but I do know that Barking Mad – the boat directly involved – didn’t protest, didn’t raise any flag. Even more importantly in my opinion, there was no whistle from the jury on the water. Which we, at least, took to mean there was no infringement.

Owners invest a lot in developing this wonderful sport. They do it through healthy enthusiasm, because they love competitive sport. But they need certain guarantees.

This wasn’t possible in the 2008 Farr40 Worlds in Miami. The conflict of interest was too blatant.

This situation led us to reject the Jury’s decision, whether or not appeal is possible. And it leads me to undertake whatever action I can, in the interests of the Joe Fly Team obviously, but above all for everyone who invests in this sport, so that everyone may enjoy equal rights, safeguards and dignity.

On my own and my team’s behalf, my most sincere compliments to Vincenzo Onorato and his crew for their racing performance throughout these Worlds. We would have applauded them anyway because they deserve it, just as we were the first to do so last year in Copenhagen, as soon as we crossed the line. They’re winners and the facts prove it.

And my compliments once again to my own crew because, now more than ever, they rose to the occasion and not only as yachtsmen. Tears shed through disappointment can be as real and valuable as those shed in joy. My heart goes out to all the crew for their humanity.

Giovanni Maspero
Joe Fly Sailing Team

11 Comments

  1. Mats V Apr 25, 2008 Reply

    Tycker nog att det är en ganska tydlig disk. Konstigt att Barking Mad inte protesterade.

  2. PeterK Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    tycker nog inte det är en så tydlig disk. Har försökt se om B.M. tvingades lova högre än dikt bidevind och ser man på 3:e båten (M.L.?) som kommer akterifrån seglar den med fullt tryck något högre. Antagligen därför B.M. inte protesterade. Kan tänka mig att bilden överst visar placeringen strax efteråt.

  3. Author
    Peter Gustafsson Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    Det är väl det som är “snackisen”, att både BM och ML faktskt var ovanför layline och seglade lägre än dikt bidevind. Hårfint.

    Fast disken gällde 19.1, att de inte svarade på BMs begäran om plats.

    19.1 When approaching an obstruction, a boat sailing close-hauled or
    above may hail for room to tack and avoid another boat on the same
    tack. However, she shall not hail unless safety requires her to make
    a substantial course change to avoid the obstruction. Before tacking
    she shall give the hailed boat time to respond. The hailed boat shall
    respond by either

    (a) tacking as soon as possible, in which case the hailing boat shall
    also tack as soon as possible, or

    (b) immediately replying ‘You tack’, in which case the hailing boat
    shall tack as soon as possible and the hailed boat shall give room,
    and rules 10 and 13 do not apply.

    Blir väl allt mer infekterat eftersom samma gubbar slåss i AC, RC44, Farr 40 och olika katamaranklasser. Undrar hur stämningen är på bryggan?

  4. PeterK Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    Peter, det låter lite konstigt att de (BM) skulle ha begärt plats att slå enligt 19.1.
    På videon har BM precis avslutat sitt slag och Joe Fly genomför sitt och blir klara innan BM kommer nära. Under slaget gäller KSR 13 och Joe Fly skall hålla undan.

    Tycker det ser ut som ett helt perfekt avvägt (turligt) placerat slag där det finns så mycket luft kvar i lovart att BM kan segla upp utan att behöva segla högre än dikt bedevind – vilket, vad jag förstår, är just kärnfrågan här enligt KSR 18.3a
    Jag är dock ingen domare utan bara försökt hålla mig vaken på Charlotte Greppes genomgångar, så jag kan ha fel………….

  5. Author
    Peter Gustafsson Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    Event: 2008 Farr 40 World Championship, race: 9

    Facts found: ITA1 v. ITA 1805
    Approaching the weather mark on port tack, approximately 1 ½ boat lengths from the starboard layline, JOE FLY sailing less than 5 kts, was overlapped bow to bow to windward of BARKING MAD, also on port tack at a speed of over 6kts. BARKING MAD and JOE FLY were on a collision course with MASCALZONE LATINO, on the starboard layline, approx. 2 boatlengths from the mark. BARKING MAD hailed for room to tack and after 5 seconds when JOE FLY failed to respond she luffed to tack. JOE FLY began to luff only when collision was imminent with BARKING MAD. BARKING MAD could not complete her tack due to the proximity of JOE FLY. Before BARKING MAD completed her tack MASCALZONE LATINO luffed to avoid contact with BARKING MAD. There was no contact .

    Conclusion: JOE FLY failed to respond to the hail for room from BARKING MAD. BARKING MAD could not complete her tack to starboard but this was due to JOE FLY failing to respond as required by RRS 19.1.

    Rule(s) applicable: RRS 19.1,13, 64.1 (b)

    Decision: JOE FLY is DSQ for breaking RRS 19.1
    BARKING MAD broke rule 13 but is exonerated under RR 64.1(b)

    Jury: Tom Ehman, USA Chairman, Nevin Baron, CRO, Soren Krause,DEN, Henry Menin, ISV, Richard Slater, AUS

  6. Mats V Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    Intressant domslut. Svårt att se på videon men jag tyckte att det verkade som att BM tvingas luffa upp över dikt bidevind för att undvika kollision med JF – precis innan klippet. Men det är svårt att se – efter klippet ser det ok ut. Domslutet däremot går på att BM inte fått tid att hinna avsluta sitt slag. Only goes to show; the jury room is a risky place…

  7. PeterK Apr 26, 2008 Reply

    Ja, med den beskrivningen är det nog safe att anta att domarna inte sett filmen….. ;-)

  8. PelleL Apr 27, 2008 Reply

    Det som visas på filmen är ointressant och har egentligen inte med situationen att göra. Frågan är om BM har begårt plats att slå och om JoeFly svarat på begäran eller inte. I ett sådant här läge måste LoBB (JoeFly) svara även om han tycker att LäBB inte har rätt att begära plats. Han kan givetvis sedan protestera på på LäBB (BM) för att felaktigt begärt plats men han måste svara och det finns bara två sätt enligt regel 19.1: (a) och (b). Det här är faktiskt ett av de vanligare felen även rutinerade kappseglare gör…….Sen kan man tycka att var pissigt av ML att lämna in en tredjepartsprotest men vad fn….det var ju faktiskt VM….jag hade nog gjort samma sak =/

  9. Jnnb Apr 29, 2008 Reply

    Giovanni säger “Although we recognize that our tack was close, it was not too close.” Men detta talar ju inte juryn om. Enligt juryn har ju JF inte gjort a) eller b) i tid. Det kan ju vara att det är det Giovanni menar, men jag tycker det verkar som om han skulle tala om om de inledde slaget tillräckligt god tid eller inte för att hinna fullfölja det. Verkar ju osannolikt, vad missar jag?

  10. PelleL Apr 29, 2008 Reply

    Näää..jag tycker det verkar som om han inte fattar vad han blivit diskad för…..dags för en regelkurs kanske =)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.