Skip to content

8 Comments

  1. Anders F
    Mar 13, 2020 @ 11:20

    inte roligt…några personskador?

    Reply

    • Peter Gustafsson
      Mar 13, 2020 @ 11:24

      Lät som det fanns några som var skadade, men inget allvarligt. Skönt.

      Reply

      • Jonny Petersson
        Mar 13, 2020 @ 12:56

        Kolla han som flyger av från den påkörda båten, han måste blivit träffad🥴

        Reply

  2. Pelle Pedersen
    Mar 13, 2020 @ 14:21

    Woxén (taktiker på Topaz) nämner att någon fick brutna revben och inre blödniingar…
    Som tur är ska det inte vara allvarligt.

    Reply

  3. Peter Gustafsson
    Mar 13, 2020 @ 17:18

    Reply

  4. Magnus W
    Mar 13, 2020 @ 19:38

    Om Topas hade fallit av isf att lova hade skadorna antagligen blivit mindre. Inte lika pinsamt som misstaget av Svea, men ändå. Det är väl antagligen proffs som beslutar ombord.

    Reply

    • Peter Gustafsson
      Mar 14, 2020 @ 10:35

      Min känsla är att manövrarna tar lite tid 😃 och att det antagligen inte går att häva den lovning som påbörjades för 30 sekunder sedan?

      En fallning funkar i våra båtar, men även där blir timingen delikat.

      Reply

  5. Peter Gustafsson
    Mar 17, 2020 @ 07:40

    Protesten är avgjord.

    Involved parties:
    TOPAZ – Peter Holmberg
    SVEA – Charles Ogletree

    Procedural matters:
    This is a hearing conducted under J Class Addendum Q. Q5.3 allows the protest committee great flexibility on how the hearing is conducted. After a very significant collision we decided to speak with both parties separately to see if they agreed the facts. They were happy for us to write up the decision without a formal hearing.

    Facts found:
    1. Topaz was approaching the start line on Starboard approximately 1 minute 40 seconds before the start.
    2. Svea on port was on a collision course with Topaz.
    3. Despite a last minute turn to bear away, Svea collided with the port side of Topaz at the runner winch causing serious damage.
    4. Topaz luffed to avoid when it was clear Svea was not keeping clear.
    5. On Topaz two crew members were injured with one crew member suffering 4 broken ribs as he was pushed overboard by the bow of Svea. On Topaz, the port runner winch was torn off. The boom was broken. Both running back stays, mainsheet, and backstay broke under the load. The port gunwale was damaged from the runner winch to the stern. The mast was put under extreme load from the impact and will need further inspection.
    6. On Svea, one crew member was pulled out of the boat by the runner tail of Topaz. His injuries were minor. The forward underbody of Svea was badly damaged.
    7. Both boats immediately retired from the race.

    Conclusion Rules:
    RRS 10,14, 44.1(b) 62.1(b), Q5.3
    Svea failed to keep clear as a port tack boat and broke rule 10, 14.
    It was not reasonably possible for Topaz to avoid the collision.

    Decision:
    Svea took the appropriate penalty by retiring.
    Topaz is entitled to redress of average points for Race 1 based on her results in the remainder of the regatta.

    Racing Rules of Sailing:
    Rule 10: When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.
    Rule 14: A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible. However, a right-of-way boat or one entitled to room or mark-room
    (a) need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room, and
    (b) shall be exonerated if she breaks this rule and the contact does not cause damage or injury.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.